h1

Cooking and Crafting

March 24, 2010

A while ago, I started reading the blog Dinner with Julie. Her writing is great, her pictures are vivid.. and really, all of her recipes sound incredible. With Dave and my class schedule, I haven’t really had a lot of time to play around with new recipes….. that being said I’ve really tried to push myself to do more cooking this week.. and the result? I’ve turned into a Dinner with Julie groupie.

Dave loves lamb. It goes along with his theory that the cuter the animal, the more delicious it must be. So on Sunday, I tried Julie’s Leg of Lamb in the Slow Cooker recipe. It was so easy and such a success! I, however, am not the biggest fan of lamb, so while the lamb was finishing up in the slow cooker I roasted a chicken. And yes, it was another Dinner with Julie recipe: Roast Lemon Chicken. Delicious!

So, we’ve been eating leftovers since Sunday. And last night we made Julie’s Tzatziki and Naan for homemade gyros. These were by far Dave’s favorite. The naan turned out exactly like the grilled pita you can get at the Coney Island restaurants around us… which in my opinion is the best thing at Coneys.

Anyway, I haven’t just been eating. I’ve been crafting, too! Promise. I finished the first four blocks for the Another Brick in the Wall by Carolina Patchworks.

Four finished blocks - finally!

The blocks are about 20″ x 20″ (but need to be trimmed and better ironed). Basically, the idea is to cut a jelly roll up and sew it back together with a neutral background fabric. I really like how it turned out and I know that I will love the finished quilt.. but there is just so much cutting and sewing of skinny strips! And I still have 8 more blocks to go. 8 more to go!

Jelly on a block

I joke that a quilt isn’t finished until it’s “cat-approved” because no matter what, one of the cats will come and sit on whatever quilt I’m working on, usually while I am working on it. This one has Jelly’s approval already – she is a great many things, but photogenic.. maybe not.

And finally….

Tiny Leaves!

I’m very much in love with this fabric! Look at all the tiny leaves!

2 comments

  1. I don’t know – shrimp are very tasty, but maybe not so cute.


  2. Haha good point! Although that crab in your vacation pictures was pretty cute… and I bet he would be super tasty 🙂



Leave a Reply

