h1

What a Weekend!

May 23, 2010

Oh man, I have had the best weekend. It’s been filled with lots of fun stuff:

On Friday, Dave and I drove to East Lansing to see the Conan O’Brien show at MSU. We had seats in the very back row, but with a clear view of the stage. Then a really large man sat down next to Dave. Now, usually that kind of thing is now a big deal, but this guy was…. really large and spilled over the sides of the seat. His body was literally pressed up against Dave, making Dave jiggle whenever he laughed. Definitely not an ideal situation. Dave saw some seats over to the side, so we got up and asked some of the ushers if we could sit there. They directed us to the ticket lobby, where a really nice woman printed us up some new tickets and told us to enjoy the show.

Our Reprinted Conan O'Brien Tickets

Not only were the new tickets on the main floor, but “Row 5” turned out to be the front row! We literally went from the last row to the first row! Which meant that when Conan came down off the stage, Dave got to pat him on the shoulder. It was amazing! The whole show was really great and we were really excited to be there. It didn’t even matter that it was passed midnight when we got home from East Lansing.

….. Which was good because on Saturday we had an appointment to walk through Shiraz Gardens at 8:30 am. Shiraz Gardens is part of the Matt Prentice Restaurant Group and is the perfect balance between elegance and fun. And! It’s where we’re going to have our wedding reception. Samantha, the catering director, showed us around and talked about some of the details with us and we were completely sold. And we have a date now: June 18th, 2011 – our tenth anniversary 🙂

Front room and bar.
This is the front room and bar at Shiraz Gardens.

The dance floor.
This is the dance floor and what the tables look like.

The outside courtyard.
This is the outside courtyard.

Saturday night, we went out to dinner and to see MacGruber with Mike, Jessica, Jess, Nat, and Dave. I wasn’t crazy about MacGruber, but I didn’t really expect to be. I was just glad to see everyone else and it turned out to be a fun night.

Today I’ve gone grocery shopping and plan to work on some quilt blocks that I need to finish for a swap-bot swap. Later, Dave, my mom and I are going out to dinner and to see Cats. I saw Cats when I was much younger and I don’t think I really understood all the death and dying motifs. I’m really looking forward to seeing it again tonight.

So it’s definitely been the best weekend ever!

7 comments

  1. I’m so happy that you have a reception place booked! That is the biggest part. 😀


  2. That’s an awesome weekend! I’m getting married on my 10th anniversary too! 🙂 Only it’s this year, July 24th. What a fabulous place for a reception 🙂 And Conan is the best!


  3. Wow – that would have been so good to see him live!


  4. Hello Julie,

    We are thrilled to hear that you will be sharing such a momentous occasion with the Matt Prentice Restaurant Group. Shiraz Gardens has been recently remodeled and I’m sure it will be the perfect setting for your family and friends.

    When the special day comes, we would love to hear feedback about your experience, pictures would be lovely as well!

    We recently started a new blog on wordpress – http://mattprenticerg.wordpress.com/ and I’d love for you to check it out.

    In the future, we’d love to hear about any of your MPRG experiences on our facebook page Facebook.com/MPRGfans or our Twitter Twitter.com/MPRGtweets

    Once again, we can’t wait to be apart of your momentous occasion, and we hope you continue to choose (and blog) the Matt Prentice Restaurant Group.

    Have a great day!

    Matt


    • Hi Matt,

      Oh my gosh, we looked at so many places and Shiraz Gardens just felt so perfect!

      I’ve added your blog to my Google Reader and fanned you on facebook 🙂

      Thanks for finding my blog.

      Julie


  5. omg, what a gorgeous venue! good luck with all of the planning. im sure you will using your crafty skills to make some things for the wedding. fyi, i have a great whole sale flower dealer ive worked with before who i recommend to anyone. family owned farm in california. no south american slave labor. no american outlawed chemicals used on the flowers. good prices and shipped out so fresh that they need at least 2 days to open up, so they last a long time. ive used them in my wedding and everyone who’s used them that i know has had great interactions with them. http://www.freshroses.com. and they even have a wedding test bouquet, which has every rose they offer labeled, so you know what it will look like.


    • Thanks for the tips, Holly! I was so excited about finding the perfect place, I haven’t even thought of anything further. I have classes through the end of this month and then I’ll really focus on nailing down all the other stuff 🙂



Leave a Reply

