h1

Quilt Blocks and Joie

October 19, 2010

Over the weekend, Dave and I went up to Traverse City for Beth and Patrick’s wedding and it was SO beautiful! They got married on this cliff overlooking a sea of fall colors. The ceremony was so beautiful that I didn’t get any good pictures – I was too busy getting teary-eyed and eavesdropping on the guy behind me who was *very* impressed with the whole thing. Hehe.

Of course, though, we couldn’t just go to Traverse City for the weekend and have everything go smoothly. On Friday morning, we discovered that Joie had licked a huge patch of fur off her leg. So Dave left work early and took her in to the vet’s. They put a bandage on it, called it a generic infection, and gave her some antibiotics. When we got home on Sunday, we noticed that not only did the leg not look better, but she had been licking around the bandage. Unfortunately, the vet was closed by then, so we had to wait until yesterday to take her in… and of course, when we took her in.. the vet said it’s probably a fungus or infection.. but could be something as bad as feline leukemia (it probably isn’t because we’ve had her tested, but now that I know the worst case scenario, I’m going to worry!). We should know tonight…. hopefully.

To solve the licking problem.. they gave her a cone… and she spent the whole night walking backwards as if she knew her head were stuck and that if she just backed up, she could back out of the cone. There is something hilarious and somewhat unsettling to be watching tv and out of the corner of your eye see your cat walk backwards through the room.

This is what she looks like as a conie:
Joie in her cone

On a completely unrelated note, I did get some quilt blocks done for the virtual quilt bee I’m in. This month was Meghan’s month and she gave us so much freedom. Basically our instructions were to do a Christmas theme in any technique we wanted with a white on white as the background.

For my first block, I did a little reindeer. I used raw-edged applique and then “doodled” around it in brown thread. I’m really happy with how the antlers turned out because they were really scary to just “doodle” to me.

Reindeer block

For the second block, I did a Christmas landscape using raw-edged applique again. I had a lot of fun making this one and I really like how it turned out:

Christmas landscape block

I have a bunch of other projects to finish up, so here’s to hoping that I can get them posted soon!

6 comments

  1. Poor little cat – I remember only too well how pitiful our proud cat looked with that cone around his neck. By the way, Poldi suffered from – fleas … and the vet did not find them – but DH did, after some research on the internet. Good luck for Joie!


    • Thanks for the tips and good energy 🙂 Also, Poldi is such a cute name 🙂


  2. I love the reindeer block! Meghan’s going to have such a cool quilt! I feel for you and the kitty. Hopefully, she’ll make a quick recovery!


    • Thanks Joanna! You set the bar so high with the block you posted to the flickr group!


  3. Poor kitty! Hope she gets better soon.

    And I know I already gushed on Flickr, but seriously, those are awesome blocks. I can’t wait to start piecing them all together!


    • I’m so relieved that you like them, Meghan. The problem with having a ton of freedom in making blocks is always the worry that the person will hate them. I can’t wait to see your finished quilt!



Leave a Reply

