h1

New Cat Bed

November 23, 2010

I made a cat bed the other night for my two kitties.

I made it using a wonderful tutorial posted on Urban Crunch.

The tutorial is for a dog bed, but I scaled it down for a cat bed. My finished cat bed is about 18 x 23 inches. I made it this large because I was hoping that my cats would want to snuggle on it together. They have been sworn enemies for almost 8 years now, so Dave tells me it’s wishful thinking. He’s probably right, but I’m still going to hope.

I didn’t have fleece so I cut up an Ikea pillowcase and it worked amazingly well. I didn’t have polyfill on hand (weird, I know, usually I have tons of it for my pirate sock monkeys), so I used scraps of quilt batting to stuff it. It still needs some more stuffing, but it will do for now. It was the first time I’ve ever sewn a zipper into something and far from perfect, but it get’s the job done and now I’m not afraid of trying to put a zipper into something which is huge for me.

The best part was when I set it on the floor, it was like a magnet for both cats. They love it! Dave took some pictures of them enjoying it.

Here is Jelly on the new cat bed:
Jelly on the bed

And here is Joie. She seems to like it best:
Joie on the bed

2 comments

  1. This is such a great idea! Thanks for posting the link to the tutorial!
    Your kitties are adorable, by the way. =)



Leave a Reply

