h1

It’s Duck!

April 25, 2011

Here’s the good news:

Duck Prosciutto

It worked! It is bona fide duck prosciutto!

Here’s the bad news:

It turns out (much like jerky) I don’t like duck prosciutto! Boo 😦 It’s just a little too ducky for my taste… which is such a bummer!

On Saturday morning, Dave and I went down to Eastern Market (the huge Farmer’s Market in Detroit) and found a butcher in central shed who set up shop (display cases with whole pigs’ heads and everything). We got an eight pound pork belly for $2.22 per pound! (This is compared to the $8-10 per pound when you special order it from a butcher shop). I cut it in half and am curing the first half to see about homemade bacon. I just hope I haven’t ruined bacon for myself – it came skin on.. which meant little piggy hairs and piggy nipples (it’s pig on the pig, Susanna!)… a bit disturbing and not something I was completely prepared for.

Anyway, I will keep you updated on the progress.

2 comments

  1. “Piggy nipples” – dear lord, you just made my week! LOL Best of luck with your bacon, dear! 🙂


    • Hehe, I’m glad someone can get a kick out of them 🙂 Thanks for the bacon wishes!



Leave a Reply

