h1

Light Bulb Terrariums

September 22, 2011

When I left my old job, I was shocked by how many bags of junk I was hauling home. True, I worked there four years… but seriously, how did I get that much junk in/on one little desk?

Now, I’m presented with a brand new desk… one that I am determined not to junk up… but also want to personalize… see the dilemma?

So far, I have a little calendar, a couple pictures, a couple magnets, and an air plant… and now I’ll have my most recent creation:

A light bulb terrarium:
Panda
(I’m a sucker for pandas…)

Since, it was a lot easier to hollow out light bulbs (though, if you try it yourself, I would highly recommend protective eye gear.. you can Google instructions) than I thought it would be, I also made a couple for coworkers:

elephant
Little elephant

butterfly
Blue butterfly… and a close up:

butterfly

I tried to keep it simple – hollowed out light bulb, sand, preserved moss, tiny air plant and tiny plastic animal.

Now… to keep them alive….

7 comments

  1. Cool! They make me think of Uncle Cactus Bear. Enjoy your new desk and being clutter-free!


    • I was just thinking of Uncle Cactus Bear! Remember when his ears grew out and he started looking like a rabbit?


  2. Cute overload! I love them. These would make great gifts, especially since I have 2 kids ready to get their first apartment. They’re looking for cute things and probably don’t have tons of time for plant care. Lol
    Thanks for posting!


    • Ooohh.. you should totally make them for your kids… or there are other really neat air plant holders that require very little care. Lots of ideas on this site: http://www.airplantsupplyco.com/


  3. These are awesome! So crafty and cute. Love it! Although I’m sure if I tried to make them, I’d likely end up somehow electrocuting myself. Trust me, I’d find a way.

    Good luck on the clutter free desk – that seems like a far away dream as I sit at my own desk covered in paper!


  4. What kind of air plant did you use? How big was the plant?
    You did a great job they are so cute.


    • Hi Michelle,
      I used an Ionantha Mexican Small in one and Latifolia in the other two. They were about an inch and a half long and an inch wide – but can be carefully pushed in bottom first.



Leave a Reply

